News & Events

Meetings & Events

« Previous Post | Next Post »

Governor Issues Proclamation to Expand Hospital Capacity

Today, Governor Abbott amended Executive Order GA-27 to increase hospital capacity throughout the state.  Effective at 11:59 p.m. on Friday, July 10, 2020, Abbott directs all hospitals in the following counties to postpone surgeries and procedures that are not immediately, medically necessary to correct a serious medical condition or to preserve the life of a patient who without immediate performance of the surgery or procedure would be at risk for serious adverse medical consequences or death, as determined by the patient’s physician:

Austin, Andrews, Aransas, Atascosa, Bandera, Bastrop, Bee, Blanco, Bosque, Brazoria, Brewster, Brooks, Burnet, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Coke, Colorado, Comal, Concho, Crane, Crockett, DeWitt, Dimmit, Duval, Ector, Edwards, Falls, Fayette, Fort Bend, Frio, Galveston, Gillespie, Glasscock, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hardin, Hays, Hill, Howard, Irion, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kendall, Kenedy, Kerr, Kimble, Kinney, Kleberg, La Salle, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Limestone, Live Oak, Llano, Loving, Martin, Mason, Matagorda, Maverick, McCulloch, McLennan, McMullen, Medina, Menard, Midland, Montgomery, Newton, Orange, Pecos, Presidio, Reagan, Real, Reeves, Refugio, Runnels, San Patricio, San Saba, Schleicher, Starr Sterling, Sutton, Terrell, Tom Green, Uvalde, Upton, Val Verde, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Ward, Wharton, Willacy, Williamson, Wilson, Winkler, Zapata, and Zavala counties.

These counties join Bexar, Cameron, Dallas, Harris, Hidalgo, Nueces, Travis, and Webb counties that are already included in the order.